July 15, 2008

Dog found 5 years later

Posted in Lost & Found tagged , , , , , at 10:01 pm by Katharine Lackey

When Rocco the beagle disappeared in 2003, little Natalie Villacis always believed he would somehow return, even though her parents repeatedly told her otherwise.

Last weekend, however, Rocco was reunited with his Queens, N.Y. family after his microchip was scanned at a Georgia shetler, the New York Post reports. (It’s a cute story — check it out)

Natalie, who is now 11, began crying when she heard the news.

“When my mom told me they found Rocco, I cried hysterically – just like I did when they told me he was lost,” Natalie told The Post. “I felt like I was in a dream, like my head was spinning.”

The story goes on to say how Natalie had even kept Rocco’s favorite toy, refusing to part with it even after all the years the pooch had been gone.

The family isn’t really sure how Rocco could have ended up 850 miles away, but they are just happy to have their beloved dog back.

Embracing Rocco, Natalie asked her mother, “Where do you think he has been all this time?”

“I don’t know,” her mother told her. “But if he could tell us, I’m sure he has more than enough material for a novel.”

Leave a Reply

